History of the Whitby Lawn Bowling Club
The Whitby Lawn Bowling and Tennis Club was founded in 1927.
In 1974, the tennis facilities were moved to Iroquois Park, but the lawn bowling green has remained on the same street, opposite Rotary Park since 1927.
In 2002, the Whitby Lawn Bowling Club celebrated its 75th anniversary of its founding. The occasion will be of historic significance for two reasons:
1. The club has the unique distinction of being one of Whitby's oldest sports associations.
2. Additionally, the Whitby lawn bowling green is the oldest sports ground in the community.
On August 29, 1928, the first tournament was played on the new Whitby lawn bowling green. A total of 26 teams from Cobourg, Port Hope, Bowmanville, Toronto, Oshawa, Uxbridge, Port Perry and Whitby participated late into the night, with Cobourg winning the Col. Farewell Cup.
In the summer of 1931, the club obtained its first permanent clubhouse, a frame building which had once stood in Centennial Park.